Epic Tales of Hyperbole


Right Place at the Right Time, with the Right Skills
July 29, 2008, 3:19 pm
Filed under: Uncategorized | Tags: , , , ,

I went to see The Dark Knight last night with Ken Perruquet and John Barnes last night.  It was a good movie.  The only problem with the movie was the same thing that made it a good movie…  There was no lull.

Normally I would only rejoice in this, but you try to hold it for 2 1/2 hours after drinking 54 ounces of Diet Coke.  I considered using the cup, but Ken wouldn’t anty up any dare money; and with no cash award, the risk of imprisonment was too great.

But that is beside the point.  What I wanted to talk about was after the movie.  We were headed for our vehicular transportation when a woman with two children stopped us.  The right place.  She asked if her tire was too flat to drive on.  The right time.  And she had no idea what to do and couldn’t reach her husband.  And we had the right skills to help.

I can’t explain why I cherished this so much, it was a just flat tire.  It was in the rain, t kids were scared and she didn’t have a jack and thus no way of releasing the spare, but still it was just a flat tire.

Here’s the thing though, I’ve spent my life searching for the right place at the right time with the right skills.  There always seems to be one or more missing.  As silly and small as it was, it was 45 minutes (Ken plugged it and we had to go fill it with air, did I mention that it was in the rain) that I absolutely knew that I was where God wanted me to be.


Leave a Comment so far
Leave a comment



Leave a comment